Recipe: Vegan Pad Thai

Another vegan recipe score!!! Yesterday, I made a great dressing with a tahini base, so I Googled a bit and found a phenomenal recipe for raw pad Thai. It’s so, SO good that I still can’t believe it happened in my kitchen!

vegan pad thai

Vegan Pad Thai

You’ll need:

-2 zucchinis, spiralized

-2 carrots, chopped

-1/4 cabbage, purple or green, chopped (I’m sure you could use 1/2 to stretch the recipe, but considering I’m just venturing into an all-vegan diet, I thought it best to tread lightly with the cabbage 😉 )

-a cup or so of cauliflower (I eyeballed it, used what I had left from a bag of mixed cauliflower and broccoli)

vegan pad thai sauce

For the sauce:

– 1/4 cup tahini

-1/4 cup nut butter (I only have natural crunchy PB here at the moment so that’s what I used.)

-1/4 cup tamari – this is basically organic, gluten-free soy sauce (I used San-J’s Organic, Gluten-free, Reduced Sodium)

-2 tablespoons of agave or maple syrup (I used my quickly diminishing bottle of VT syrup; gonna need to buy more online asap!!)-2 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice (I did a tablespoon of both since I had a half of a lemon and a lime)

-1 teaspoon of minced garlic

-1 teaspoon of grated ginger (I used a couple shakes of ginger powder because I didn’t want to dirty up even MORE kitchen gadgets)
Put all of your sauce ingredients in a big bowl and whisk until smooth. Then, chop and spiralize your veggies, and toss them in the same bowl. Using a spatula, mix everything together. Lick spatula, because OMG, that sauce is killer. The nut butter mixed with the tamari and citrus… heavenly. This batch yielded 3 servings, but if you added more cabbage or another carrot, it’d easily stretch this recipe without making it dry because the sauce recipe makes a lot.

If you make this, let me know what you think!! And if you haven’t already, don’t forget to follow me via email to get the latest posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

