Recipe: Zoodles with Artichoke-Sage Sauce!

Today was my 4th day straight of my Bikram streak and I’m feeling pretty good!! Came home tonight and made this killer of a recipe… I was a little skeptical, but OMG SO GOOD! And vegan!!

Zoodles with Artichoke-Sage Sauce!

IMG_3269

This recipe is based on this blogger’s dish, but I didn’t have pasta OR mushrooms, so some improvising was needed.

You’ll need:

  • 2 zucchini
  • a 12-ounce jar of marinated artichokes (in oil or water)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (if your ‘chokes aren’t packed in oil)
  • 1/2 cup water (if your ‘chokes aren’t packed in water)
  • 10 fresh sage leaves
  • garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • tomato

I made the sauce first by draining the artichokes and reserving 1/4 cup of the oil they were packed in – if they’re packed in water, you can use this for your 1/2 cup needed. Dump the ‘chokes into a blender (Nutribullet here), add 1/4 of the artichoke oil, 1/2 cup of water, 2-3 cloves of garlic, salt and pepper. Blend until that shiz is amazingly creamy. Seriously, no dairy?? Whoa. Set your sauce aside and make some pasta. To help cut calories, I spiralized 2 zucchini (which, can I say, I need a new veggie spiralizer. The knob on the one I have broke and now it’s stuck on only one kind of noodle shape.. super annoying considering how expensive it was!!), but you could just chop the zook’s up if you don’t have a spiralizer. Then I sauteed some garlic in a little of what was left of the artichoke oil. Toss the zucchini quickly to warm them through, add the sauce and toss to coat. I had a lone tomato waiting to be used, so I chopped that bad boy up and added it to the mix. If you’re not trying for a vegan thang, you could totally sprinkle on some parmasean/romano cheese here… mmmm.

Holy crow, was this dish delish!!! Vegan, SUPER simple, filling, DELICIOUS!! If you try it, let me know!

xo – Jen

Leave a Reply

