Recipe: Soyrizo with Sauteed Cabbage, Garlic & Onions

Awwww jeeeuh, this one was a winner!! I picked up a package of soy chorizo a couple weeks ago, threw it in the freezer and forgot about it until my bank account was looking really piddly and I needed to raid the kitchen to find food. đŸ™‚ Now, usually, I do NOT get down with soy anything… I know what soy is, I’ve seen videos on how it’s made, but there’s something about it that just wigs me out. No me gusta, weird ass soy. BUT, I randomly bought this package of soyrizo with hopes that I could make something awesome out of it. And voila!

Soyrizo with Sauteed Cabbage, Garlic and Onions!

Soyrizo with Sauteed Cabbage and Onions

You’ll need:

  • A package of soy chorizo (I found this bad boy for cheapz at Walmart)
  • A head of cabbage (SO CHEAP! I only used about a quarter of it)
  • An onion
  • A couple garlic cloves
  • 2 packets of Sazon (in the reddish, orange box)
  • Low-carb tortilla (TJ’s has them 60 cal’s per ’tilla!)

I chopped the onion and garlic and started to caramelize them in a pan with some coconut oil. Then, I added the chorizo and made sure it was cooked through (…although… it’s soy, so would it get you sick if it’s “undercooked”??). I cut about a quarter of a head of raw cabbage, gave it a rough chop and threw it in the pan. Then, I added 2 packets of Sazon (you can find this in the “international” section of most grocery stores) because I’m obsessed with this stuff. Saute and stir everything together until the cabbage wilts a bit. Tada! Grab yourself a low-carb tortilla,, pile it on and enjoy!!

The soyrizo DOES have a solid amount of sodium in it.. and grease.. which kinda upset my stomach afterwards, and I’m not sure what to do about that, but overall, I’d make this dish again. The bulk of the calories here comes from the chorizo because cabbage is sooo low cal, so I guess it’s a trade-off? Anyhoo, enjoy!

xo – Jen

Leave a Reply

