Recipe: Zoodles with Pumpkin “Creme” Sage Sauce

EDIT: I probably should’ve said in each recipe that I’ve made/posted thus far that these recipes are generally for 2 people! Anytime I do anything with zucchini noodles (AKA zoodles), I do 1 large zook per person.

I’m on a zoodles and sage kick, obviously. I got the base of this recipe from this blog, but revised it for my current diet, which is low-cal and vegan whenever possible. IE, lots of veggies, fruits and no dairy. My digestive system has been really happy with me for the past 10 days. šŸ™‚ Anyway, without further ado…

Zoodles with Pumpkin “Creme” Sage Sauce

Zoodles with Pumpkin Cream Sage Sauce

You’ll need:

  • Large zucchini (1 per person) OR Fettuccine
  • Half of an onion
  • Garlic cloves – 2
  • 1 cup of pureed pumpkin (DON’T GET PUMPKIN PIE FILLING! Not the same! šŸ™‚ )
  • Extra Virg Olive Oil
  • Rubbed Sage (I didn’t have any more of the real deal)

Make zoodles or fettuccine. I always opt for spiralized veggies because it saves you SO many calories!! Chop and sauteed half an onion and the garlic in some coconut oil or olive oil. While that’s doing it’s carmalized, yummy thing, add a couple dashes of rubbed sage. The bottle says 2 tsp = 1 tsp of fresh sage, so I did about 2 good shakes, however much that actually is…. that’s probably not helpful. Anyway, go with 2 teaspoons. After the onions are soft, add 1 cup of pureed pumpkin. Mix this all around until the pumpkin is warmed up. Now, this was a little too thick for my liking, so I added a drizzle of EVOO to loosen the consistency. Once the sauce is a nice consistency, here’s the money shot – pour the sauce into a food processor (I used my trusty NutriBullet) and blend the sauce. I found that this upped the flavor by blending the chunks of garlic and onion with the pumpkin-sage AND it really smoothed out the consistency. I love that you can blend veggies like onions and they make such a creamy consistency. Hence the “creme” part of the title. Ladle over your noodles and MANGA!

Okay, so I said that this recipe was for 2 people… and it is! But, that damn sauce was so good, I literally ate all of it. Ha. It’s definitely enough for 2 people, but if you’re a fan of the savory side of pumpkin, double the sauce for 2 people. šŸ™‚

xo – Jen

Leave a Reply

